The Crime

Underage Possession of Alcohol is an offense that can seriously damage your record and your reputation.  In Tennessee, a person may be convicted of the crime of Underage Possession of Alcohol if the state prosecutor proves beyond a reasonable doubt that the person:

  1. Was under the age of 21; and
  2. Possessed any intoxicating liquor or beer.

Under a separate statute, it is also a crime for any person under the age of 21 to purchase, attempt to purchase, receive, or have in such person’s possession in any public place, any alcoholic beverage.  If you have been charged with the crime of Underage Possession of Alcohol, you should seek help from the Knoxville criminal defense attorneys at the Oberman & Rice Law Firm.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 57-3-412, 57-4-203]

The Penalties

Under Tennessee law, Underage Possession of Alcohol is a Class A Misdemeanor and may result in some or all of the following consequences:

  1. A sentence of up to 11 months, 29 days in jail;
  2. A probationary period;
  3. A fine of up to $2,500;
  4. A one-year loss of driver’s license; and
  5. Court costs.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 57-3-412, 57-4-203, 57-5-301]

Under Tennessee law Underage Consumption is a Class A Misdemeanor and may result in some or all of the following consequences:

  1. A sentence of up to 11 months, 29 days in jail;
  2. A probationary period;
  3. A fine of up to $2,500;
  4. A one-year loss of driver’s license; and
  5. Court costs.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 57-3-412, 57-5-301]

Should I Hire A Lawyer?

Underage Possession of Alcohol is a Misdemeanor Offense in Tennessee.  However, it may result in jail time, a fine, and a potential loss of your Tennessee driver’s license.  If convicted, the Underage Possession of Alcohol charge will remain on your criminal history forever (except in rare circumstances).  As a result, a potential employer may uncover a record of a conviction for this offense through a request for an applicant’s criminal history.  An Underage Possession of Alcohol Conviction may also result in the loss of college scholarships or the ability to seek admission to a higher learning institution.  An experienced Tennessee Criminal Defense Attorney provides the best opportunity to avoid a jail sentence or a conviction.

Why Hire An Attorney Immediately?

It is important to act quickly in order to gather and preserve favorable evidence.  Certain witnesses need to be interviewed as soon as possible.  Key evidence (faces, dates, events, and conversations) fades from memory over time.  Also, video recordings and other evidence may be destroyed.  Therefore, it is critical to begin an investigation as soon as possible to ensure valuable evidence is not lost.  Success or failure in any criminal case may be determined in the decisions of the defendant and his or her Tennessee Criminal Attorney in only a few hours or days after an arrest.

Contact Us Today

If you or someone you know has recently been arrested, contact the Oberman & Rice Law Firm today so that we can begin preparing a defense for your case. Submit your information for a free case evaluation from our Knoxville criminal defense attorneys or call our office at 865-249-7200.