TN DUI Penalties First Offense DUI

Tennessee DUI penalties will differ in each case, depending on particular facts and circumstances. This summary is intended to be general in nature, therefore, information should not be relied upon without individual consultation with a well qualified DUI lawyer in Tennessee.


DUI First Offense - Sentence is 11 months, 29 days



Jail Time


Mandatory 48 hours to 11 months, 29 days, or minimum increases to 7 days if blood alcohol concentration is .20% or higher


Probationary Period
11 months, 29 days less the time spent in jail

$350 - $1500

Highway Litter Removal
Mandatory 24 hours
DUI Assessment
Mandatory alcohol and drug addiction fee of $100.00
DUI School/Alcohol Rehabilitation
Mandatory DUI School or Victim Impact Panel (often sponsored by Mothers Against Drunk Driving)
Volunteer Community Work
May be ordered by the court
License Revocation
1 year; eligible for restricted license if meet all other qualifications
Ignition Interlock Device
At the discretion of the court or mandatory if certain conditions are present
Vehicle Forfeiture
Not authorized; except for unusual circumstances