Failure to Yield

The Crime

Failure to Yield is a traffic offense that can damage your driving record. If you are convicted of Failure to Yield and you possess a Tennessee driver’s license, the Tennessee Department of Safety will assess 4 points on your motor vehicle record (MVR). If you have been charged with failure to yield, you should seek help from the Knoxville traffic attorneys at the Oberman & Rice Law Firm.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated §§ 55-8-128 to 55-8-134]

The Penalties

If the Failure to Yield results in serious bodily injury or death, then the Failure to Yield has penalties beyond the assessment of points to a person’s MVR (Motor Vehicle Record), in addition to charges for other crimes that may be applicable. Failure to Yield that results in serious bodily injury to another is a Class B Misdemeanor and may result in some or all of the following consequences:

  1. A sentence of up to 6 months in prison;
  2. A probationary period;
  3. A fine of up to $500;
  4. Court costs;
  5. Revocation of driver’s license for 6 months.

Failure to Yield that results in the death of another is a Class A Misdemeanor and may result in some or all of the following consequences:

  1. A sentence of up to 11 months, 29 days in prison;
  2. A probationary period;
  3. A fine of up to $2,500;
  4. Court costs;
  5. Revocation of driver’s license for 1 year.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated § 55-8-197]

Why Hire An Attorney Immediately?

It is important to act quickly in order to gather and preserve favorable evidence if necessary. Key evidence (faces, dates, events, and conversations) fades from memory over time. Also, video evidence may be destroyed. Therefore, it is critical to begin an investigation as soon as possible to ensure valuable evidence is not lost. Success or failure in any Tennessee traffic case may be determined in the decisions of the defendant and his or her Tennessee Traffic Attorney in the days after a citation is written.

Contact Us Today

If you or someone you know has recently been charged, contact the Oberman & Rice Law Firm today so that we can begin preparing a defense for your case. Submit your information for a free case evaluation from our Knoxville traffic attorneys or call our office at 865-249-7200.

Featured Posts

underage drinking
May 11, 2024

Underage Consumption of Alcohol in Tennessee is more of a headache than you think.

As most folks should know, if you are under the age of 21 you are not allowed to consume alcohol in Tennessee (and all other states in the U.S.).  In fact, an underage person who has been drinking or is […]

Read More
April 12, 2024

New DUI Law Alert–Work Release Requirement Update

The Tennessee Legislature passed several new laws that became effective on January 1, 2024.  One DUI related law involves the Tennessee Work Release Program.  Work release is a form of probation that may be used, in certain circumstances, after a person has […]

Read More
April 08, 2024

Reinstating Your Tennessee Driver’s License

If the Tennessee Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security has suspended or revoked your driver’s license, you are not allowed to drive again until you have obtained a valid driver’s license. This means that you cannot reuse your old driver’s […]

Read More

Contact

Office

Oberman & Rice
550 Main Street
Suite 730
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone Number
(865) 249-7200
(865) 540-1696 (fax)

GPS Coordinates
Long: 35.970504
Lat: -83.914776

contact us today for a free consultation

We reply to non-urgent after-hours requests for consultation within 24 hours. For after-hour emergencies, please call us at (865) 249-7200.

Fields marked with an * are required