1st Offense DUI Penalties

TN DUI penalties will differ in each case, depending on particular facts and circumstances. This summary of first offense DUI penalties is intended to be general in nature.  Additional penalties exist, and therefore the information on this web page should not be relied upon without individual consultation with a well-qualified DUI attorney in Tennessee.

DUI First Offense – Sentence is 11 months, 29 days

Details

Jail Time Mandatory 48 hours to 11 months, 29 days, or minimum increases to 7 days if blood alcohol concentration is .20% or higher
Probationary Period 11 months, 29 days less the time spent in jail
Fine $350 – $1500
Highway Litter Removal May be ordered by the court
DUI Assessment Mandatory alcohol and drug addiction fee of $100.00
DUI School/Alcohol Rehabilitation Mandatory DUI School or Victim Impact Panel (often sponsored by Mothers Against Drunk Driving)
Volunteer Community Work May be ordered by the court
License Revocation 1 year; eligible for restricted license if meet all other qualifications
Ignition Interlock Device Mandatory unless the court makes a specific finding that an IID is not required in a particular case. IID required for 365 consecutive days or for entire period of license revocation, whichever is longer.
Vehicle Forfeiture Not authorized; except for unusual circumstances
Monitoring May be ordered by the court. E.g., transdermal or alternative alcohol or drug monitoring device, electronic monitoring device, or GPS monitoring device.

Featured Posts

October 25, 2022

New Tennessee Crime: Aggravated Reckless Driving

Effective July 1, 2022, the Tennessee Legislature created the new Tennessee Crime of Aggravated Reckless Driving.  A person who “intentionally or knowingly impedes traffic upon a public street, highway, alley, parking lot, or driveway, or on the premises of a […]

Read More
October 07, 2022

Boating Under the Influence (BUI) May Now Be Used to Enhance a Sentence for Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

Beginning July 1, 2022, a conviction for a Tennessee Boating Under the Influence (BUI) offense may be used to increase the penalties when a person is charged in Tennessee with Driving Under the Influence (DUI).  Prior to July 1, 2022, […]

Read More
September 23, 2022

Ignition Interlock Device (IID) as a Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Bond Condition

When charged with a Tennessee Driving Under the Influence or DUI-related offense (including Vehicular Assault by Intoxication, Aggravated Vehicular Assault by Intoxication, Vehicular Homicide by Intoxication, and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide), an offender may be required to operate only a motor […]

Read More

Contact

Office

Oberman & Rice
550 Main Street
Suite 730
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone Number
(865) 249-7200
(865) 540-1696 (fax)

GPS Coordinates
Long: 35.970504
Lat: -83.914776

contact us today for a free consultation

Fields marked with an * are required