Speeding is a misdemeanor traffic offense that can damage your driving record. Motorist are most often concerned about how a Tennessee Speeding conviction will affect the points on their driving history. If you are convicted of Speeding (in a non-commercial motor vehicle) and you possess a Tennessee driver’s license, the Tennessee Department of Safety will assess points on your motor vehicle record (MVR) based upon your speed:
- Speeding 1 to 5 miles per hour over the speed limit – 1 point
- Speeding 6 to 15 miles per hour over the speed limit – 3 points
- Speeding 16 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit – 4 points
- Speeding 26 to 35 miles per hour over the speed limit – 5 points
- Speeding 36 to 45 miles per hour over the speed limit – 6 points
- Speeding 46+ miles per hour over the speed limit – 8 points
- Speed not indicated – 3 points
- Speed less than posted minimum (Driving Under the Speed Limit) – 3 points
Please note that the points, fines, and other consequences increase if convicted while traveling in a construction zone or while driving a commercial motor vehicle. If you have been charged with Speeding, you should seek help from the Knoxville criminal defense attorneys at the Oberman & Rice Law Firm.
[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated § 55-8-152]
Why Hire An Attorney Immediately?
It is important to act quickly in order to gather and preserve favorable evidence, if necessary. Key evidence (faces, dates, events, and conversations) fades from memory over time. Also, video evidence may be destroyed. Therefore, it is critical to begin an investigation as soon as possible to ensure valuable evidence is not lost. Success or failure in any Tennessee traffic case may be determined in the decisions of the defendant and his or her Tennessee Traffic Attorney in the days after a citation is written.
Contact Us Today
If you or someone you know has recently been cited in Tennessee, contact the Oberman & Rice Law Firm today so that we can begin preparing a defense for your case. Submit your information for a free case evaluation from our Knoxville traffic attorneys or call our office at 865-249-7200.
New Tennessee Crime: Aggravated Reckless Driving
Effective July 1, 2022, the Tennessee Legislature created the new Tennessee Crime of Aggravated Reckless Driving. A person who “intentionally or knowingly impedes traffic upon a public street, highway, alley, parking lot, or driveway, or on the premises of a […]Read More
Boating Under the Influence (BUI) May Now Be Used to Enhance a Sentence for Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Beginning July 1, 2022, a conviction for a Tennessee Boating Under the Influence (BUI) offense may be used to increase the penalties when a person is charged in Tennessee with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Prior to July 1, 2022, […]Read More
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) as a Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Bond Condition
When charged with a Tennessee Driving Under the Influence or DUI-related offense (including Vehicular Assault by Intoxication, Aggravated Vehicular Assault by Intoxication, Vehicular Homicide by Intoxication, and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide), an offender may be required to operate only a motor […]Read More
contact us today for a free consultation
We reply to non-urgent after-hours requests for consultation within 24 hours. For after-hour emergencies, please call us at (865) 249-7200.