Underage Consumption

The Crime

Underage Consumption is an offense that can seriously damage your record and your reputation. In Tennessee, a person may be convicted of the crime of Underage Consumption if the state prosecutor proves beyond a reasonable doubt that the person:

  1. Was under the age of 21; and
  2. Purchased, possessed, transported or consumed any tobacco, smoking hemp, vapor products, alcoholic beverages, wine or beer.

If you have been charged with the crime of Underage Consumption, you should seek help from the Knoxville Criminal Defense attorneys at the Oberman & Rice Law Firm.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated §1-3-113]

The Penalties

Under Tennessee law, Underage Consumption is a Class A Misdemeanor and may result in some or all of the following consequences:

  1. A sentence of up to 11 months, 29 days in prison;
  2. A probationary period;
  3. A fine of up to $2,500;
  4. Court costs.

[Source: Tennessee Code Annotated §1-3-113]

Should I Hire A Lawyer?

Underage Consumption of Alcohol is a Misdemeanor Offense in Tennessee. However, it may result in jail time, a fine, and a potential loss of your Tennessee driver’s license. If convicted, the Underage Consumption charge will remain on your criminal history forever (except in rare circumstances). As a result, a potential employer may uncover a record of a conviction for this offense through a request for an applicant’s criminal history. An Underage Consumption Conviction may also result in the loss of college scholarships or the ability to seek admission to a higher learning institution. An experienced Tennessee Criminal Defense Attorney provides the best opportunity to avoid a jail sentence or a conviction.

Why Hire An Attorney Immediately?

It is important to act quickly in order to gather and preserve favorable evidence. Certain witnesses need to be interviewed as soon as possible. Key evidence (faces, dates, events, and conversations) fades from memory over time. Also, video recordings and other evidence may be destroyed. Therefore, it is critical to begin an investigation as soon as possible to ensure valuable evidence is not lost. Success or failure in any criminal case may be determined in the decisions of the defendant and his or her Tennessee Criminal Attorney in only a few hours or days after an arrest.

Contact Us Today

If you or someone you know has recently been arrested, contact the Oberman & Rice Law Firm today so that we can begin preparing a defense for your case. Submit your information for a free case evaluation from our Knoxville criminal defense attorneys or call our office at 865-249-7200.

Featured Posts

underage drinking
May 11, 2024

Underage Consumption of Alcohol in Tennessee is more of a headache than you think.

As most folks should know, if you are under the age of 21 you are not allowed to consume alcohol in Tennessee (and all other states in the U.S.).  In fact, an underage person who has been drinking or is […]

Read More
April 12, 2024

New DUI Law Alert–Work Release Requirement Update

The Tennessee Legislature passed several new laws that became effective on January 1, 2024.  One DUI related law involves the Tennessee Work Release Program.  Work release is a form of probation that may be used, in certain circumstances, after a person has […]

Read More
April 08, 2024

Reinstating Your Tennessee Driver’s License

If the Tennessee Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security has suspended or revoked your driver’s license, you are not allowed to drive again until you have obtained a valid driver’s license. This means that you cannot reuse your old driver’s […]

Read More

Contact

Office

Oberman & Rice
550 Main Street
Suite 730
Knoxville, TN 37902

Phone Number
(865) 249-7200
(865) 540-1696 (fax)

GPS Coordinates
Long: 35.970504
Lat: -83.914776

contact us today for a free consultation

We reply to non-urgent after-hours requests for consultation within 24 hours. For after-hour emergencies, please call us at (865) 249-7200.

Fields marked with an * are required