Habitual Motor Vehicle Offender (HMVO)
The Motor Vehicle Habitual Offenders Act (“Act”) provides that a judge shall revoke a driver’s license if that driver has shown an indifference to the safety and welfare of others. A person whose license has been revoked under the Act is often referred to as a Habitual Motor Vehicle Offender or “HMVO.”
The consequences of violating the act and being found to be an HMVO are severe and include the following:
- 3-Year License Revocation – An offender’s license will be revoked for a period of at least three years by the Tennessee Department of Safety. This revocation will be honored by all other states in the county.
- Possible Felony Charges – If a person, previously declared an HMVO, is found to be driving, then he or she will be charged with a Felony Offense.
- License Reinstatement is NOT Guaranteed – In order to reinstate an offender’s driving privileges, the offender must file a petition with the appropriate court. If the petition is granted, the Tennessee Department of Safety must then issue a Tennessee driver’s license before the offender may legally drive.
A person may be determined to be an HMVO after being convicted of any combination of 3 of the following offenses within a 5-year period, OR any combination of 5 such offenses within a 10-year period:
– Voluntary Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle
– Involuntary Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle
– Vehicular Homicide
– Vehicular Assault
– Violation of Meeting or Overtaking School Buses
– Failing to Stop at the Scene of an Accident Resulting in Property Damage, Injury or Death
– Aggravated Vehicular Homicide
– Adult Driving While Impaired (DWI)
– Reckless Driving
– Drag Racing
– Evading Arrest in a Motor Vehicle
– Reckless Endangerment by Use of a Motor Vehicle
– Driving on a Cancelled, Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License where the basis of cancellation, suspension or revocation is any of the above-listed offenses
New Tennessee Crime: Aggravated Reckless Driving
Effective July 1, 2022, the Tennessee Legislature created the new Tennessee Crime of Aggravated Reckless Driving. A person who “intentionally or knowingly impedes traffic upon a public street, highway, alley, parking lot, or driveway, or on the premises of a […]Read More
Boating Under the Influence (BUI) May Now Be Used to Enhance a Sentence for Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Beginning July 1, 2022, a conviction for a Tennessee Boating Under the Influence (BUI) offense may be used to increase the penalties when a person is charged in Tennessee with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Prior to July 1, 2022, […]Read More
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) as a Tennessee Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Bond Condition
When charged with a Tennessee Driving Under the Influence or DUI-related offense (including Vehicular Assault by Intoxication, Aggravated Vehicular Assault by Intoxication, Vehicular Homicide by Intoxication, and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide), an offender may be required to operate only a motor […]Read More
contact us today for a free consultation
We reply to non-urgent after-hours requests for consultation within 24 hours. For after-hour emergencies, please call us at (865) 249-7200.